Skip to content

My Rotator Cuff

Sharing my recovery

Image

Today was three weeks since my surgery. One thing remains a fact, when I do too much, my shoulder will let me know it. I didn’t really have any significant pain between week two and three,  until last night, and, it was kind of a surprise, and a little disappointing…but it is still normal. Especially, when I think that I am able to do more than I should. It bites me back every time. So, today, and tomorrow, I am staying completely down for some good healing.

I get paranoid that I’ve ripped a suture in the tendon or pulled the anchor out sometimes, even though I try to keep the arm in the sling and stay as idle as possible. But, I’ve been told, I would know for sure if that happened, so I stopped worrying about it.

Ice, ice, ice…is still my sidekick. Even after three weeks, it gives me some very good relief if my shoulder starts to act up. I tried some heat, but really, there is nothing like ice! Twenty minutes on, and twenty minutes off,for several hours, at least twice a day.

Staying idle, physically, can start to make me feel depressed, so I focus on the easy tasks that I do each day, and the positive side of being out of the office and living a relatively stress free existence, for now anyway. So, I try not to let my lack of physical activity bring down my good spirit. I can drive with one hand, but usually only short distances for a paper and coffee.

Next week I see the surgeon, and, I start Physical Therapy. I bet that first PT session will not be fun, so, I am not thinking about it.

More than anything, I have kept my schedule full by having breakfast or lunch with friends who either pick me up, or I have them over. Next week I plan on visiting some relatives I haven’t seen for a long time, and having lunch with my sister. As you can see, this does have it’s advantages!

It’ll be four months before I can lift any weights, and, the entire healing process will take six months. So, three weeks is good progress, but I keep my patience about me while I am healing. I wonder if that is why we are called patients?

Tags: , , , ,